A Hidden Treasure

Much like myself, you probably dream of discovering an attic full of treasures. A few week ago, I had a small piece of that dream become reality. Allow me to set the story for you….

There is this house in my neighborhood that has been for sale by its owner for, what seems to be quite awhile. On the outside the house is constructed of Kentucky limestone, there is a glass greenhouse that looks like it was picked right up from a garden in the countryside of England and placed in the backyard, a breezeway that connects the main house to the garage and more. I decided to call the number on the sign to have a look inside. Hoping the inside would show as well as the outside, I thought this house might be a contender for purchase (we were looking to sell our home and buy another). Much to my surprise the inside did not present well at all.

The current owner was very eager to make certain that I saw every nook and cranny of every part of the property, even the attic over the garage. This is where the small piece of that dream became reality. The garage attic appeared as if no one had been there for sometime, there were a few old framed photographs, medical diplomas and a dusty large narrow box!  The owner went on to say that the remaining “stuff” in the attic was either going to be thrown away or taken to a local consignment shop. I thought this would be an appropriate time to ask about what was in the box, his reply was “old paper”. OLD PAPER I thought, “can I see” I asked! The man lifted the lid from the box to unveil, what seemed like “old paper” to him, but what was really tucked away inside that box were……….. vintage tissue paper flower balls in an array of faded colors!!! With the amount of excitement I must have displayed when the lid was removed, the man said to me “you can have them”! Vintage tissue paper flower balls to me are like ice cream, cookies and just about anything else that is sweet! I offered to buy the box from the man, however he refused. The man told me that the house was full of “stuff” when he purchased it and I would have had fun looking through all of it. I was happy the dusty box had not been discovered and that I have been granted a tiny part of that dream of discovering an attic full of treasures!! First photograph is how the balls looked at discovery, the second photograph is after a bit of fluffing! On another note, we now have a contract on a house!

Oh the possibilities I have in store for these vintage tissue paper flower balls!ImageImage

I have since learned that the original homes owners were a doctor, therefore the medical diplomas and apparently he had a crafty wife! I also learned they had no children and that would be the reason why so much “stuff” was left behind. Sad really.

Leave a Reply

